State guideKentucky
Medical only

Cannabis
in Kentucky

What the law allows in Kentucky, and the dispensaries and deals as they are added.

Kentucky at a glance

Medical Only
Kentucky allows cannabis for medical use only. Senate Bill 47, signed in 2023, set up the state's medical program, which began on January 1, 2025, and the first licensed dispensaries opened in January 2026. Outside that program cannabis is still illegal: possessing up to eight ounces is a misdemeanor that can bring jail time and a fine, and larger amounts are treated as evidence of intent to sell. There is no adult-use market and no recreational store to walk into. To buy, you need a Kentucky medical cannabis card for a qualifying condition. In June 2026 the governor ordered the Office of Medical Cannabis to spell out 15 more conditions that count, including sickle cell anemia, Crohn's disease, Parkinson's and fibromyalgia. Dispensaries are capped at one per county, so the network is still thin, and every product on the shelf must be grown, processed and tested inside Kentucky. Patients must be at least 18, and a card is needed just to get through the door.

Kentucky cannabis law

Possession Limits

Registered medical cannabis patients in Kentucky may keep up to a 30-day supply at home. When away from home, they may carry no more than a 10-day supply (MPP; Wikipedia). A certifying practitioner can approve a larger amount when a patient's treatment calls for it (MPP). Patients under 18 may not possess or buy cannabis themselves. A parent or legal guardian must pick it up and administer it (MPP). Recreational use remains illegal. Possessing up to eight ounces outside the medical program is a misdemeanor punishable by up to 45 days in jail and a $250 fine, and eight ounces or more is treated as prima facie evidence of intent to sell (NORML). Notes for the editor: No official source for these limits. The only .gov source provided (kymedcan.ky.gov) covers applications, fees, and caregivers. It says nothing about possession limits. Every limit above comes from secondary sources (MPP, Wikipedia, NORML). Please confirm these figures against an official Kentucky source, such as the Office of Medical Cannabis or the statute text, before publishing. The eight-ounce medical limit was left out on purpose. The Stoll Keenon Ogden source describes an eight-ounce limit for cannabis bought in other states. That rule came from the earlier executive-order framework (effective January 1, 2023). It appears to have been superseded by SB 47's supply-based limits, but the sources don't confirm that it is no longer in effect. The 10-day carry limit and the practitioner exception have only one source. Both come solely from MPP. Wikipedia confirms only the 30-day figure. Nothing was omitted because sources disagreed on medical limits. None of the sources give a specific weight equivalent for a "30-day supply," so the paragraph does not state one.

Verified — · source
Age Minimum

Kentucky's medical cannabis program lets minors participate, but not on their own. For a patient under 18, a custodial parent or legal guardian must serve as the designated caregiver (Kentucky Office of Medical Cannabis). Registered patients younger than 18 may not buy or possess cannabis themselves. Instead, a parent or guardian collects the product and gives it to them (MPP). Adults who register as caregivers must be at least 21, live in Kentucky, have no disqualifying felony convictions, and assist no more than three patients (Kentucky Office of Medical Cannabis). --- Notes for the editor: No explicit adult patient age: None of the sources states a minimum age for adult patients. The under-18 rules imply that patients 18 and older can buy for themselves, but I did not state that directly. Parent caregivers under 21: The official page gives both the 21+ caregiver requirement and the parent/guardian rule for minors. It does not say whether a parent under 21 can serve as caregiver, so I left that out. Unofficial source for the purchase ban: The rule that minors cannot buy or possess cannabis comes from MPP, a non-government source. The official .gov page establishes only the caregiver requirement. Consider confirming the purchase and possession rule against the statute or the Office of Medical Cannabis before publishing. Sources with nothing usable: kentuckystatecannabis.org has an "age minimum" heading but no age facts. The Stoll Keenon Ogden page explicitly does not address age. Neither was used.

Verified — · source
Home Grow

Home cultivation can carry serious criminal penalties in Kentucky. Under the state's cannabis penalty laws, a first offense for growing fewer than five plants is a misdemeanor punishable by up to 12 months of imprisonment and a $500 fine. Growing five or more plants is a felony carrying one to five years of imprisonment and a $10,000 fine (NORML). Kentucky's medical program is administered through a state registry, where patients apply with a practitioner's written certification (Kentucky Medical Cannabis Program). Patients considering home cultivation should confirm with the state program whether a registry card changes their legal position before planting

Verified — · source
Regulatory Body

Kentucky's medical cannabis program is run by the state. Patients and caregivers enroll through the state's Patient and Caregiver Registry Portal, where applicants upload their materials, including a notarized signature page (kymedcan.ky.gov). The Office of Medical Cannabis issues patient cards, and the registry portal opened on January 1, 2025 (kentuckystatecannabis.org). --- Notes for the editor Office name needs checking. The name "Office of Medical Cannabis" and the portal's January 1, 2025 opening date come only from kentuckystatecannabis.org, which is not a government site. The official kymedcan.ky.gov source confirms the registry portal exists but does not name the office that runs the program. Please check the name against a .gov page before publishing, or cut that sentence. Research center left out. Two sources describe a state research center that can add qualifying conditions, but they name it differently: kentuck

Verified — · source
Taxes

Kentucky allows cannabis for medical use only; recreational use remains illegal (source). We have not confirmed a specific tax rate or tax exemption for medical cannabis purchases, so we don't list one here. The only state-set patient cost we could confirm from an official source is the $25 application fee for qualified patients (source). That is a registration fee, not a tax on purchases. Before buying, patients should ask their dispensary or the state program how purchases will be taxed. --- Note for the editor: No tax facts in the sources. Three sources have tax-related headings: MPP ("taxes"), kentuckystatecannabis.org ("taxes") and NORML ("tax stamps"). None of the extracted facts gives a rate, an exemption, or who collects the tax. Kentucky's tax treatment of medical cannabis (sales tax, excise tax, or exemption) is therefore not established here, and I left it out. The official Office of Medical Cannabis site and the Kentucky Department of Revenue would be the right places to confirm it. Tax stamps not mentioned. NORML's "tax stamps" heading probably refers to a drug-tax-stamp requirement for illegal marijuana, not medical sales. No facts support it, so I left it out. Medical-only status cites a non-.gov source. The claim that recreational use is illegal comes from Wikipedia, and kentuckystatecannabis.org says the same. None of the provided official sources states it directly. Consider swapping in a .gov citation if one is available. Conflicting sources elsewhere. The skofirm article describes the older 2023 executive-order framework (

Verified — · source
On-Site Consumption

Kentucky's program is medical-only. Patients register through the state's Patient and Caregiver Registry Portal and must pledge not to divert medical cannabis to anyone who isn't authorized to have it (kymedcan.ky.gov). The sources for this listing don't establish whether you can consume cannabis at a dispensary or elsewhere in public. Before planning to use any product on the premises, confirm the current rules with the dispensary or the state's Office of Medical Cannabis. --- Note on gaps The main question is unanswered. None of the nine sources addresses on-site consumption: whether dispensaries may allow it, whether public use is banned, or where patients may legally consume. I didn't guess. The paragraph states only the diversion pledge, which the official source supports, and points readers to confirm. To state the actual rule, add an official source such as KRS Chapter 218B (the statute created by SB 47) or the Office of Medical Cannabis regulations in 915 KAR. Smoking ban left out. Wikipedia says smoking is prohibited and raw cannabis is sold for vaporizing. That bears on consumption, but no .gov source here confirms it, so I omitted it. Unrelated conflicts in the sources. These don't affect this paragraph but matter for other sections: Kentuckystatecannabis.org says 15 conditions were added by executive order on June 2, 2026. WKYT, reporting the same order, lists nine. The Stoll Ke

Verified — · source
Medical Card Process

Getting a Kentucky medical cannabis card starts with a visit to a medical cannabis practitioner, who must provide a written certification that becomes part of your application (source). You then apply through the state's Patient and Caregiver Registry Portal, supplying your full name, address, phone number, email, date of birth, Social Security number, and driver's license number, along with a notarized signature page uploaded to the portal (source). As part of the application, you pledge not to divert medical cannabis to anyone unauthorized, and qualified patients pay a $25 fee (source). Patients under 18 must have a custodial parent or legal guardian serve as their designated caregiver. Any caregiver must be a Kentucky resident, be at least 21, have no disqualifying felony convictions, and assist no more than three registered patients (source). --- Notes for the editor In-person first visit omitted. Only MPP's summary of SB 47 says the initial certification visit must be in person, with telemedicine allowed afterward. No official source confirms this, so I left it out. Patient residency omitted. A commercial certification site (kentuckymarijuanacard.com) says patients must be Kentucky residents. The official page states residency only for caregivers, so I did not assert it for patients. Practitioner type kept general. kentuckystatecannabis.org says the practitioner must be a board-certified physician or an APRN. I used the official page's broader term, "medical cannabis practitioner," instead. **

Verified — · source
Qualifying Conditions

To register as a medical cannabis patient in Kentucky, you need a written certification from a medical cannabis practitioner, which is submitted with your application through the state's Patient and Caregiver Registry Portal (kymedcan.ky.gov). The 2023 law behind the program, Senate Bill 47, named six original qualifying conditions: cancer, chronic severe pain, epilepsy, multiple sclerosis, chronic nausea, and post-traumatic stress disorder (MPP; kentuckystatecannabis.org). The law also lets the Kentucky Center for Cannabis add conditions it considers appropriate (MPP; kentuckystatecannabis.org). On June 2, 2026, Governor Andy Beshear signed an executive order expanding the list (WKYT; [kentuckystatecannabis.org](https://k

Verified — · source
Application Requirements

Kentucky medical cannabis cards are requested online through the state's Patient and Caregiver Registry Portal. Before applying, a patient needs a written certification from a medical cannabis practitioner and must supply their full name, address, phone number, email, date of birth, Social Security number, and driver's license number (kymedcan.ky.gov). Applicants also pledge not to divert cannabis to anyone unauthorized and must upload a notarized signature page. The patient application fee is $25 (kymedcan.ky.gov). A patient may register a caregiver, who must be a Kentucky resident, at least 21 years old, and free of disqualifying felony convictions. A caregiver can assist no more than three registered patients. For patients under 18, the caregiver must be a custodial parent or legal guardian (kymedcan.ky.gov). --- Notes on what I left out and why: Patient residency: Only kentuckymarijuanacard.com, a commercial certification provider, says patients must be Kentucky residents. The official page states a residency rule for caregivers only. I omitted patient residency until a .gov source confirms it. Practitioner qualifications: kentuckystatecannabis.org says the certifying practitioner must be a Kentucky-licensed, board-certified physician or APRN trained in medical cannabis. MPP says the first certification visit must be in person. Neither is an official source

Verified — · source
Renewal Process

Kentucky patients handle their registration through the state's Patient and Caregiver Registry Portal. There, applicants submit their personal details, a notarized signature page, and a written certification from a medical cannabis practitioner (kymedcan.ky.gov). Because practitioner certification is a core part of registration (kymedcan.ky.gov), patients who want to stay in the program will likely need ongoing contact with a certifying provider. Under the state's medical cannabis law, only the first certification visit must take place in person. Follow-up visits may be done by telemedicine (MPP). Patients should check the official program site for current renewal timelines, fees, and forms (kymedcan.ky.gov). --- Notes for the editor **No source covers renewal direct

Verified — · source
Telemedicine Rules

Kentucky does not allow patients to complete the medical cannabis certification process entirely online. Every patient application must include a written certification from a medical cannabis practitioner (kymedcan.ky.gov). According to a summary of the state's SB 47 law, the first certification visit with that practitioner must happen in person, but later follow-up visits can take place through telemedicine (MPP). Patients considering a virtual or same-day card service should confirm that the provider meets the in-person requirement for the first visit before booking. --- Notes Only a non-official source supports the telemedicine rule. The in-person-first, telehealth-later rule comes solely from the Marijuana Policy Project summary (source 4). The official .gov source (kymedcan.ky.gov) does not address telemedicine. Before publishing, someone should confirm this rule against the statute (KRS Chapter 218B) or Office of Medical Cannabis guidance. Source 8 was left out. KentuckyMarijuanaCard.com advertises "same-day certification" and phone and email support. It does not say whether those visits are virtual or in person, and it is a commercial provider, so I used it for no legal claims. Source 6 was also left out. WKYT reports that applicants must undergo a "full assessment" and meet exam requirements. That is consistent with the in-person rule, but it does not mention telemedicine, so I kept it out to avoid implying more than it says. These questions remain open. None of the sources address whether telemedicine practitioners must be located in Kentucky, which platforms are permitted, or whether caregivers or minors follow different telehealth rules. I left those points out.

Verified — · source
Reciprocity

If you hold a medical cannabis card from another state, check Kentucky's rules before you travel. Kentucky's program operates through a state-run Patient and Caregiver Registry Portal. Registering requires written certification from a medical cannabis practitioner and identifying details such as a driver's license number (source). Caregivers, who may assist up to three registered patients, must be Kentucky residents themselves (source). The state's official application page includes guidance on out-of-state patients, so confirm there whether Kentucky will honor a card issued elsewhere

Verified — · source

Metro areas in Kentucky

News