Cannabis
in Idaho
What the law allows in Idaho, and the dispensaries and deals as they are added.
Idaho at a glance
Idaho cannabis law
Idaho sets no legal possession allowance because the state treats cannabis as a Schedule I controlled substance, and possessing any amount is against the law (ODP). Idaho Code Sections 37-2732 and 37-2732C lay out the penalties (ODP). Small-quantity possession is charged as a misdemeanor that can bring up to a year behind bars and a fine of as much as $1,000 (Sullivan Law), and a recent change requires judges to impose at least a $300 fine rather than waiving it (Idaho Statesman). Once the amount exceeds three ounces, the offense becomes a felony carrying up to five years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000 (Sullivan Law). Concentrates and hashish get the same treatment as flower (NORML). A proposed ballot measure, Kind Idaho, would allow adults to carry up to one ounce of flower or 1,000 mg of THC in products, but it is only a proposal and is not law (ODP). --- Notes for the editor: Sources outside .gov: The official ODP page confirms that possession is illegal and names the governing code sections, but it gives no specific penalty amounts or weight thresholds. Those details come from non-government sources (Sullivan Law, Idaho Statesman, NORML). You may want to verify them against the text of Idaho Code §37-2732 before publishing. Three-ounce boundary is unclear: NORML describes the misdemeanor tier as "three ounces or less," while the Statesman, Sullivan Law, and idahocannabis.org say "less than 3 ounces." Because the sources disagree about exactly three ounces, the paragraph avoids stating which tier that amount falls into. **Eff
Verified — · sourceIdaho has no minimum age for buying or using cannabis because the state does not permit anyone, of any age, to do either. State law classifies cannabis as a Schedule I controlled substance, which makes all use and sale illegal (ODP). Manufacturing, delivering, possessing with intent to deliver, and simple possession are all prohibited, as are using marijuana in public and being under its influence (ODP). Penalties are set out in Idaho Code Sections 37-2732 and 37-2732C (ODP). Adults and minors face the same prohibition, so no age qualifies anyone for legal access. --- Note on omissions: No age threshold is stated in any source. Several pages list "age minimum" or "age restrictions" as headings (NORML, drgreenrelief.com, idahocannabis.org), but none of the extracted facts give an actual age. I did not supply a figure such as 21 or 18. Proposed measures are left out. The Kind Idaho initiative and the various medical cannabis proposals might include age requirements if enacted, but none of the provided facts describe them. Rules for minors or caregivers under past medical proposals are also not established by the sources. Epidiolex is left out. Sources note it is permitted, but none tie it to an age requirement, so it seemed off-topic for this section. Only the official source is cited. All legal claims come from the Idaho Office of Drug Policy page, per the preference for .gov sources.
Verified — · sourceGrowing cannabis at home is not legal in Idaho, whether for personal or medical use. State law lists marijuana as a Schedule I controlled substance and bans its manufacture, delivery and possession, with penalties set out in Idaho Code Sections 37-2732 and 37-2732C (Idaho Office of Drug Policy). Because Idaho has no medical program, patients have no exemption that would allow them to cultivate (Idaho Cannabis). According to NORML, growing any number of plants up to 24 is a felony punishable by up to five years in prison, a fine of up to $15,000, or both. Growing 25 or more plants is treated as trafficking and carries mandatory minimum sentences (NORML). A proposed ballot initiative called Kind Idaho would allow adults to grow up to 12 plants at home and keep up to eight ounces in secure storage. It is only a proposal and has not become law (Idaho Office of Drug Policy). --- Notes for the editor Penalty figures come from a non-official source. The plant-count penalties (the 24-plant felony, the $15,000 fine and the 25-plant trafficking threshold) are cited only to NORML. The official ODP page refers to Idaho Code 37-2732 and 37-2732C but does not list cultivation penalties in the material provided. Please check these figures against the statute before publishing. "Cultivation" is inferred from "manufacturing." The ODP summary bans "manufacturing" and does not use the word "cultivation." I treated the two as the same based on the ODP page's "home grow" heading and NORML's explicit statement. A direct statutory citation would be stronger. Kind Idaho's status is unclear, so I left it out. None of the sources say whether the initiative qualified for the ballot. The Idaho Statesman reports that a medical cannabis initiative failed to gather enough signatures, but it is not clear that this is the same effort. I
Verified — · sourceIdaho has no licensed cannabis market for a state agency to oversee. State law classifies cannabis as a Schedule I controlled substance, and manufacturing, delivering, or possessing it, along with public use, is illegal (Idaho Office of Drug Policy). Idaho also has no medical marijuana program, so no agency issues patient cards or dispensary licenses (Idaho Cannabis). Instead of a regulatory framework, marijuana offenses fall under the criminal penalties in Idaho Code Sections 37-2732 and 37-2732C (Idaho Office of Drug Policy). Notes Proposed regulator left out. One source (drgreenrelief.com, not official) says the Department of Health and Welfare would license producers and dispensaries under a proposed medical program. That proposal dates to around 2022, and a later source says House Bill 370 failed in 2023. No official source confirms any agency holds that role, so I left it out. Office of Drug Policy's role left out. The ODP page has a "regulatory body" heading, but the extracted facts don't say which agency, if any, it names. I didn't describe ODP as a regulator. It's worth checking that section of the page directly. Epidiolex left out. The Epidiolex exception is supported only by non-official sources. It also isn't really about a regulatory body, so I omitted it to keep the paragraph short. Official source needed. The statement that no medical program exists cites a non-official source because the official ODP page, as summarized, doesn't say so explicitly. You may want to replace it with an official citation if one is available.
Verified — · sourceIdaho has no cannabis tax structure for shoppers to navigate because it has no legal cannabis market. State law classifies marijuana as a Schedule I controlled substance, so all sale and use are prohibited, and manufacturing, delivering, or possessing it is a crime (Idaho Office of Drug Policy). The state also has no medical program through which patients could make taxable purchases (DISA; Idaho Statesman). The one exception is Epidiolex, a prescription cannabidiol drug that was descheduled in 2021 (Wikipedia). Anyone crossing the border to buy in a neighboring state should know that bringing cannabis back into Idaho remains illegal under state law (Idaho Office of Drug Policy). --- Notes for the editor: No tax rates stated. None of the sources give an excise, sales, or other tax rate for cannabis in Idaho, so I included none. The paragraph says only that no legal market exists to tax. Tax stamps omitted. The NORML page (norml.org/laws/idaho-penalties) lists "tax stamps" as a heading, but the research gives no facts about it. It may refer to a drug tax stamp requirement on illegal possession, but I couldn't confirm whether one exists, what it requires, or whether it is still in effect. I left it out. It's worth checking against Idaho Code or the Idaho State Tax Commission before adding. Ballot initiative omitted. The Kind Idaho initiative is described on the official ODP page, but the sources say nothing about whether it would impose taxes. I didn't mention it here. Border-crossing sentence. This relies on the ODP statement that possessing marijuana in Idaho is illegal. It doesn't make any claim about other states' laws.
Verified — · sourceIdaho has no licensed dispensaries, lounges, or other venues where cannabis can be used on-site. The state classifies cannabis as a Schedule I controlled substance, which makes all use and sale illegal (ODP). Using marijuana in public, or simply being under its influence, is also against the law (ODP). Penalties for marijuana offenses are set out in Idaho Code Sections 37-2732 and 37-2732C (ODP). Visitors arriving from neighboring states with legal markets should know that nowhere in Idaho can they legally buy or consume cannabis. --- Notes for the editor: Penalty for public use left out. NORML says public use or intoxication is a misdemeanor punishable by up to six months in jail and/or a fine of up to $1,000. The official ODP page confirms public use is illegal but gives no penalty. I cited the Idaho Code sections instead. You could add the NORML figure with a citation, but ideally it should be checked against the statute first. "No venues" is an inference. No source explicitly says consumption lounges are banned. The first sentence follows from the ODP statement that all sale and use is illegal, but it is not stated verbatim. Ballot initiative left out. ODP mentions the proposed Kind Idaho initiative, but none of its described provisions address on-site consumption, so it seemed out of scope.
Verified — · sourceIdaho has no medical marijuana card to apply for. State law lists cannabis as a Schedule I controlled substance, and all use and sale are illegal (https://odp.idaho.gov/issues-trends/marijuana/). The state has no medical cannabis program, so residents cannot get a card no matter their health condition (https://idahocannabis.org/). A recent citizen effort to create a program did not collect enough signatures to reach the ballot (https://www.idahostatesman.com/news/politics-government/state-politics/article316460216.html). Idaho dispensary listings therefore cannot offer a card-holder path to legal purchase. --- Notes for the editor: Official source coverage: The Idaho ODP page confirms that cannabis is Schedule I and that all use and sale are illegal. It does not explicitly say "there is no medical card program." I cited idahocannabis.org for that point, which is not a .gov source. You may want to find an official source that states this directly. Conflicting or outdated sources: drgreenrelief.com and greenhealthdocs.com describe a proposed program expected "by 2022," including Department of Health and Welfare licensing, residency rules, a 120-day rulemaking window, and a list of qualifying conditions. Other sources say this never happened. idahocannabis.org says HB 370 failed in 2023, and the Statesman says the initiative failed to qualify. I left out all of the proposed-program details. They describe laws that were never enacted and could mislead readers. Epidiolex: Three non-official sources (idahocannabis.org, Wikipedia, and idahocannabis.org/medical) say Epidiolex is the one legal cannabis-derived product. I omitted it because no .gov source here confirms it. Add it if you can verify it officially. Reciprocity: One source lists reciprocity as a heading but gives no facts on it. I made no claim about whether Idaho honors out-of-state cards.
Verified — · sourceIdaho does not recognize any qualifying medical conditions for cannabis, because the state has no medical marijuana program. State law treats cannabis as a Schedule I controlled substance, so any use or sale is illegal regardless of diagnosis or a physician's advice (Idaho ODP). Patients cannot get a medical cannabis card in Idaho (IdahoCannabis.org). Recent efforts to create a program have failed. A 2023 bill, the Idaho Medical Cannabis Act (House Bill 370), did not pass the legislature (IdahoCannabis.org). A later ballot initiative that would have covered conditions such as cancer, PTSD, epilepsy, and chronic pain did not collect enough signatures to reach voters (Idaho Statesman). The one exception is Epidiolex, an FDA-approved, CBD-based prescription drug for epilepsy (IdahoCannabis.org; Wikipedia). --- Notes for editor: Official sourcing is limited. The only .gov source (odp.idaho.gov) establishes the Schedule I status and the ban on use and sale. It does not directly address qualifying conditions or medical cards. The statement that no conditions are recognized and no cards are issued relies on idahocannabis.org, a non-official source. Consider confirming against Idaho Code or another official source. Sources conflict on qualifying conditions. Dr. Green Relief lists specific conditions (ALS, autism, PTSD, Crohn's, and others) as if a program exists or is imminent. Green Health Docs likewise describes a proposed program "around 2022." Both conflict with every other source, including the official one, and appear outdated. I left them out. Epidiolex is from non-official sources only. The exception is supported by idahocannabis.org and Wikipedia. Wikipedia's claims that it was descheduled in February 2021 with up to 0.1% THC were omitted because no official source confirms them. Consider verifying the product's legal basis before publishing. The ballot initiative's timing is unclear. The Idaho Statesman article does not give a year in the provided facts, so the paragraph does not state one. **
Verified — · sourceIdaho has no application process for a medical or recreational cannabis card because the state has no program to apply to. Cannabis is a Schedule I controlled substance under Idaho law, and all use and sale are illegal (Idaho Office of Drug Policy). No state agency issues patient cards or licenses dispensaries, so residents cannot obtain a card no matter what their medical history is (Idaho Cannabis). Supporters have tried to create a system. A recent citizen initiative would have required applicants to show proof of a diagnosed condition from a licensed medical professional. It failed to gather enough signatures to reach the ballot, so none of its requirements are law (Idaho Statesman). Any website offering an "Idaho medical marijuana card" or evaluation is not offering a state-recognized credential. --- Notes for the editor Official-source gap: The ODP page (the only .gov source) confirms Schedule I status and that all use and sale are illegal. It does not explicitly say that no card or dispensary licensing program exists. For that point I relied on idahocannabis.org, which is consistent with Wikipedia, DISA, and the Statesman. You may want a .gov citation (for example, Idaho Code or the Department of Health and Welfare) before publishing. Outdated or conflicting claims left out: Dr. Green Relief and GreenHealthDocs describe a program "expected around 2022," a Department of Health and Welfare licensing role, a 120-day rulemaking window, Idaho residency and photo ID requirements, and lists of qualifying conditions. All of these describe proposals that were never enacted, and they conflict with the other sources. I excluded them. Unestablished details: The sources don't say which initiative cycle the Stat
Verified — · sourceIdaho has no medical cannabis card, so there is nothing to renew. State law places cannabis in Schedule I, which makes all use and sale illegal (Idaho Office of Drug Policy). The state has no medical marijuana program, and residents cannot get a medical cannabis card (Idaho Cannabis; Idaho Cannabis – Medical). Lawmakers introduced a medical cannabis bill, House Bill 370, in 2023, but it failed in the legislature (Idaho Cannabis – Medical). A later ballot initiative did not collect enough signatures to reach voters (Idaho Statesman). The one exception is Epidiolex, a prescription drug derived from cannabis, which is allowed for epilepsy patients (Idaho Cannabis – Medical). --- Notes for the editor Official source coverage: The .gov source (odp.idaho.gov) confirms the Schedule I status and the ban on all use. It does not directly say there is no medical card program. That point comes from non-official sources (idahocannabis.org, Wikipedia, DISA), which all agree. Renewal details: None of the sources give any renewal facts, such as timelines, fees, or forms. That makes sense, since no program exists. DrGreenRelief and idahocannabis.org/medical list "renewal process" as a heading, but the research contains no facts under it. Outdated sources: DrGreenRelief and GreenH
Verified — · sourceIdaho has no telemedicine pathway to medical cannabis because the state has no medical cannabis program. State law classifies cannabis as a Schedule I controlled substance, and possessing, manufacturing, or delivering marijuana is illegal (Idaho Office of Drug Policy). Residents cannot obtain a medical cannabis card, and no qualifying conditions are recognized (Idaho Cannabis). An online evaluation, whether from an in-state or out-of-state provider, cannot give an Idaho patient legal protection to possess cannabis. The main exception is Epidiolex, an FDA-approved, cannabis-derived prescription medication for epilepsy (Idaho Cannabis). --- Notes for editor: No telemedicine-specific rules found. None of the sources describe any Idaho law on telemedicine for cannabis. Source 7 (greenhealthdocs.com) lists "telemedicine rules" as a heading, but its extracted facts contain no actual rule, so nothing from it is used. The paragraph follows from the absence of a program rather than from a stated telemedicine rule. Epidiolex rules left out. I did not describe how Epidiolex may be prescribed, including whether it can be prescribed via telehealth, because no source covers this. Two claims rely on non-.gov sources. The Idaho Office of Drug Policy page confirms Schedule I status and general illegality. It does not directly address the "no medical card" point or the Epidiolex exception, so those two claims cite idahocannabis.org. Consider confirming both against an official source. Minor tension between sources. The ODP page says all use and sale is illegal, while other sources note the Epidiolex exception. I phrased the paragraph to avoid claiming that all cannabis-derived products are banned. Omitted statement. Source 7's claim that insurance does not cover certification costs was left out. It concerns a program Idaho doesn't have.
Verified — · sourceVisitors with a medical cannabis card from another state should not expect it to carry any weight in Idaho. The state has no medical marijuana program of its own (idahocannabis.org), so there is no framework for recognizing out-of-state patients. Idaho law treats cannabis as a Schedule I controlled substance. Possessing it, using it in public, or being under its influence is illegal, and penalties are set out in Idaho Code Sections 37-2732 and 37-2732C (Idaho Office of Drug Policy). Possession of less than three ounces carries a mandatory minimum fine of $300 (Idaho Statesman). This is especially relevant for travelers because recreational marijuana is legal in all but two of Idaho's six neighboring states (Idaho Statesman). The one narrow exception is Epidiolex, an FDA-approved, cannabis-derived prescription drug for epilepsy (Wikipedia). --- Notes for the editor: No source directly addresses reciprocity. idahocannabis.org/medical lists "reciprocity" as a heading, but no fact about it came through in the research. I did not write that Idaho "refuses" or "does not honor" out-of-state cards. Instead, the paragraph says that without a program there is nothing to extend reciprocity through, and that possession is illegal under the official source. If you want an explicit statement that out-of-state cards are not recognized, it needs a source, ideally a .gov page or the statute itself. The claim that no program exists relies on a non-official source. The official ODP page says all use and sale is illeg
Verified — · source