Cannabis
in Texas
3 dispensary operators listed across 7 cities, with their deals and standing discounts, and what the law allows.
Texas at a glance
Texas cannabis law
Texas treats marijuana possession outside its medical program as a crime, and the penalty grows with the amount involved (https://guides.sll.texas.gov/cannabis/recreational-use). Two ounces or less is a misdemeanor carrying up to 180 days in jail and a $2,000 fine. More than two and up to four ounces is a misdemeanor with up to one year and $4,000. Anything above four ounces is a felony (https://norml.org/laws/texas-penalties-2/). Legal access is limited to the Compassionate Use Program, which the Texas Department of Public Safety runs. Under that program, permanent residents may obtain low-THC cannabis with a prescription from a registered physician (https://www.texas.gov/health-services/texas-medical-marijuana/). Patients should stay within the terms of their prescription and remember that federal law still prohibits marijuana (https://guides.sll.texas.gov/cannabis/recreational-use). --- Notes for the editor Patient quantity limit not stated. None of the sources give a specific amount that registered medical patients may possess, so the paragraph doesn't state one. THC cap left out because sources disagree. The official texas.gov page says 0.5% THC by weight, and the Lubbock defense page agrees. The texasmedicalmarijuanadoctors.com page says 1%. Since the official page may be outdated, please verify the current cap
Verified — · sourceTexas's medical program, the Compassionate Use Program, sets no minimum age for a low-THC cannabis prescription. Patients younger than 18 must have a legal guardian involved in their care (texas.gov). The Marijuana Policy Project adds that a minor qualifies only when a second physician agrees that the expected benefit outweighs the risk (MPP). Separately, state law treats delivering marijuana or other controlled substances to anyone under 18 as a second-degree felony (Texas State Law Library). --- Notes Second-physician requirement: This comes only from MPP, a non-official source. The texas.gov page mentions the guardian requirement but not a second physician. Confirm it against DPS or the statute before publishing, or drop that sentence. Hemp/THC retail age limits: I left these out because the sources conflict and none are official. KUT (Sept. 4, 2025) reports no age restriction. NBC DFW reports that TABC emergency rules set a 21+ limit following the governor's Sept. 10, 2025 executive order. Texas Cannabis Clinic also cites 21+. The difference may be timing, but that isn't established by an official source. Source 8's "at least 18 (or parental consent)": I omitted this because it frames the rule differently from the official source's "no minimum age" statement.
Verified — · sourceTexas has no legal framework for growing cannabis at home. Recreational marijuana use is illegal under both state and federal law, and possessing marijuana is a criminal offense whose severity depends on the amount (Texas State Law Library). The state's only medical option is the Compassionate Use Program, which the Texas Department of Public Safety administers. It is limited to low-THC products, and patients must be permanent Texas residents with a prescription from a registered program physician (Texas.gov). Registered patients obtain their medicine through this program. None of the sources indicate that it lets patients cultivate their own. --- Notes for the editor No source directly states the cultivation rule. NORML (source 3) and MPP (source 7) list "cultivation" and "home grow" as headings, but the extracted facts include nothing on the topic. Neither official source addresses home cultivation explicitly. I did not write "home grow is illegal" or cite cultivation penalties, because no source provided backs that claim. The paragraph relies only on the official statements that recreational use is illegal, possession is criminalized, and medical access runs through prescriptions. Please confirm the cultivation rule and its penalties (NORML's full page is the likely place) before adding a direct statement. I left out the THC cap for medical products because the sources conflict. Texas.gov says 0.5% by weight, while source 8 says 1%. The Texas.gov page may also
Verified — · sourceTexas runs its medical cannabis program, the Compassionate Use Program, through the Texas Department of Public Safety (texas.gov). DPS oversees a program built around low-THC cannabis, which the state caps at 0.5% THC by weight (texas.gov). Patients qualify through a prescription from a physician registered with the program, not through a state-issued card (texas.gov). Recreational use remains illegal under both state and federal law, so no agency licenses adult-use sales (guides.sll.texas.gov). --- Notes for the editor Registry name left out. Several non-official sources say prescriptions are entered into the Compassionate Use Registry of Texas (CURT). The official texas.gov source provided doesn't mention it, so I didn't include it. Add it if you can confirm it on a .gov page. Hemp regulators left out. Non-official sources name the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission (NBC DFW) and the Department of State Health Services (Clark Hill) as regulators of hemp-derived THC retail. These fall outside the medical program, and no .gov source here covers them. THC cap conflict. texas.gov gives 0.5%, while texasmedicalmarijuanadoctors.com gives 1%. I used the official figure. Consumption method conflict. texas.gov says low-THC cannabis may only be swallowed. A 2026 texascannabisclinic.com page says inhalation has been approved for program patients. This doesn't affect this paragraph, but it will matter for any consumption-method section. Resolve it against a current .gov source.
Verified — · sourceTexas allows cannabis only through its medical Compassionate Use Program, which the Texas Department of Public Safety administers (texas.gov). Recreational use remains illegal under state law (sll.texas.gov), so there is no adult-use market with its own tax structure. We haven't confirmed how sales or excise taxes apply to low-THC medical purchases, so we don't list any rates here. Ask the dispensary for an itemized total before you pay. --- Note: No source covers taxes. None of the 13 sources, official or otherwise, mention sales tax, excise tax, or any other tax on medical cannabis in Texas. Taxes also aren't among the subjects the top-ranking pages cover. So the paragraph makes no claim about tax rates, exemptions, or who collects them. To say anything substantive, add an official source such as guidance from the Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. Why the paragraph cites what it does. The two cited facts come from the official sources. They explain why no recreational tax regime exists. They don't describe how medical purchases are taxed. Sources disagree on the medical THC cap. This didn't affect the paragraph, but texas.gov says 0.5%, while texasmedicalmarijuanadoctors.com says 1%. Resolve this with an official source before any other section states the limit.
Verified — · sourceTexas runs a medical-only program, the Compassionate Use Program, which the Texas Department of Public Safety administers (texas.gov). Recreational use remains illegal under both state and federal law, and possessing marijuana outside the program is a criminal offense (Texas State Law Library). None of the official sources describe any allowance for consuming cannabis at a dispensary or other licensed location. Patients should not assume they can consume on the premises and should confirm the rules with the Department of Public Safety or the dispensary before a visit. --- Note for the editor: On-site consumption itself: None of the sources state whether on-site consumption is allowed or prohibited. The texas.gov page lists it as a heading but gives no specific fact on it. So the paragraph describes the absence of an allowance instead of claiming a ban. A person should check this against the statute or DPS rules. Consumption method (left out because sources conflict): texas.gov says low-THC cannabis may only be swallowed, not smoked. texascannabisclinic.com (March 2026 guide) says inhalation is now approved for program patients. The official page may be out of date, so this needs direct verification before it is published. THC cap (left out because sources conflict): texas.gov and lubbockcriminaldefense.com give a 0.5% cap. texasmedicalmarijuanadoct
Verified — · sourceTexas does not run a conventional medical marijuana card system. Its medical program, the Compassionate Use Program, is overseen by the Texas Department of Public Safety (texas.gov). To take part, a patient must be a permanent Texas resident and get a prescription from a physician registered with the program. Patients younger than 18 need a legal guardian involved (texas.gov). The state does not mail patients a physical card. Instead, the prescribing doctor enters the patient into the Compassionate Use Registry of Texas (CURT), and dispensaries check that registry when filling orders (Texas Cannabis Clinic; Texas Cannabis Clinic, 2026 guide). --- Notes for the editor Non-official citation: The "no physical card / CURT registry" point comes only
Verified — · sourceTexas runs its medical cannabis program, the Compassionate Use Program, through the Texas Department of Public Safety (texas.gov). Patients qualify based on a diagnosis, and the eligible conditions include seizure disorders, multiple sclerosis, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), terminal cancer, and incurable neurodegenerative diseases (texas.gov). A diagnosis alone is not enough. Patients must also be permanent Texas residents and get a prescription from a physician registered with the program (texas.gov). Anyone who thinks they may qualify should confirm eligibility with a registered physician, because the state has changed the list over time. --- Notes for the editor Condition list is incomplete on purpose. The official texas.gov page lists only the five conditions above. Several non-official sources describe a longer list: MPP and Texas Cannabis Clinic say HB
Verified — · sourceTexas does not run an open application process like many medical states. Access goes through the Compassionate Use Program, which the Texas Department of Public Safety oversees (texas.gov). To take part, a patient must be a permanent Texas resident, have a qualifying medical condition, and get a prescription from a physician registered with the program (texas.gov). The state sets no minimum age, but a legal guardian must be involved for patients under 18 (texas.gov). Patients do not receive a physical card. Instead, the prescribing physician enters them into the Compassionate Use Registry of Texas (CURT) (texascannabisclinic.com). --- Notes on sourcing and omissions CURT registry / no physical card: The official texas.gov page does not state this. It comes from non-official sources (texascannabisclinic.com, texasmedicalmarijuanadoctors.com) that agree with one another. You may want to confirm it against a DPS source before publishing. Required documents: One non-official source (texasmedicalmarijuanadoctors.com) says patients need medical records and proof of residency. No other source confirms this, so I left it out. Minors: The sources disagree. texas.gov says there is no minimum age and a guardian is needed under 18. MPP says a second physician must concur for minors. Another source says patients must be 18 or have parental consent. I used only the official wording. The second-physician requirement is unverified. Qualifying conditions: I did not list them. The texas.gov page gives five conditions, but several non-official sources say HB 46 (2025) expanded the list. The sources also disagree on details, such as whether chronic pain was added in 2023 or 2025. The official list may be outdated. THC cap and consumption method: I left these out because they fall outside application requirements and the sources conflict. THC cap: texas.gov says 0.5%; another source says 1%. Consumption method:
Verified — · sourceTexas does not issue a physical medical cannabis card, so there is no card to renew. Physicians instead enter patients and their prescriptions into the Compassionate Use Registry of Texas (CURT) (source; source). To keep access through the Compassionate Use Program, run by the Texas Department of Public Safety, a patient must remain a permanent Texas resident and hold a prescription from a registered CUP physician (source). In practice, some private clinics sell certification in 12-month blocks, which include CURT registration and follow-up care (source). That clinic also says the whole certification process can be handled by telemedicine (source). Patients should confirm the details of continuing a prescription with their registered physician. --- Notes No official source on renewal. Neither .gov source addresses renewal. Nothing here establishes a legal expiration date, a required renewal interval, or a state renewal fee, so I left those out. The 12-month period is not a legal requirement. It comes from one clinic's pricing ($160 for 12 months). I described it only as clinic practice. I did not include the price because it is commercial, not legal. Telemedicine is from a non-official source. That claim comes only from the clinic's site. Consider confirming it against an official source before publishing. Conflicting sources I avoided. Some sources disagree on other program details, such as the THC cap (0.5% vs. 1%) and the age requirements. None of that is needed for this section.
Verified — · sourceTexas's medical program, the Compassionate Use Program, is administered by the Texas Department of Public Safety. It requires patients to be permanent Texas residents with a prescription from a physician registered with the program (texas.gov). Some private clinics advertise that the full certification process, from consultation to registry enrollment, can happen remotely without an in-person visit (Texas Cannabis Clinic; Texas Original). However, the official state guidance reviewed here does not describe any telemedicine-specific rules. Patients should confirm with their registered physician before booking a virtual appointment. --- Notes for the editor: Telemedicine isn't confirmed by an official source. The texas.gov page lists telemedicine among its topics, but the facts extracted from it don't say whether remote prescribing is allowed or how it works. The only telemedicine claims come from two commercial clinics that sell these services. So I framed them as what clinics advertise, not as settled law. It's worth checking the actual texas.gov page or DPS/Texas Medical Board rules before stating it as law. I left out several details because the sources conflict: THC cap: texas.gov says 0.5%, while texasmedicalmarijuanadoctors.com says 1%. **Cons
Verified — · sourceTexas's medical program does not appear to accommodate visiting patients. The state's Compassionate Use Program, run by the Texas Department of Public Safety, is open only to permanent Texas residents who hold a prescription from a registered CUP physician (texas.gov). Out-of-state patients are not eligible for prescriptions under the program (QuickMedCards). Texas also issues no physical medical cards. Instead, qualifying patients are entered into the Compassionate Use Registry of Texas (CURT) (Texas Cannabis Clinic). Visitors should keep in mind that recreational marijuana remains illegal under both state and federal law, and possessing it is a criminal offense whose severity depends on the amount (Texas State Law Library). --- Notes for editor: No explicit official statement on out-of-state cards. None of the .gov sources directly says whether Texas honors medical cards from other states. The residency requirement comes from texas.gov. The statement that out-of-state patients are ineligible comes from a commercial source (QuickMedCards). That source addresses eligibility for Texas prescriptions, not legal recognition of another state's card. So I did not write "Texas does not recognize out-of-state cards" as a flat legal statement. An official DPS source confirming this would strengthen the section. Unused source. Source 6 (Lubbock Criminal Defense) lists "reciprocity" as a heading, but none of its extracted facts cover it, so I did not cite it. THC cap left out. The sources conflict on the THC limit for medical products: texas.gov says 0.5%, and Source 8 says 1%. The limit isn't central to reciprocity, so I left it out rather than pick one. The CURT/no-physical-card claim relies on non-.gov sources. Sources 4, 8, and 12 agree on it
Verified — · source