Cannabis
in Georgia
2 dispensary operators listed across 7 cities, with their deals and standing discounts, and what the law allows.
Georgia at a glance
Georgia cannabis law
In Georgia, only registered patients and their caregivers may legally possess medical cannabis. Recreational use remains against the law (GMCC). A registered patient or caregiver may hold up to 12,000 milligrams of THC in total (Georgia DPH; GMCC). Each individual package is capped at 1,200 milligrams of THC (GMCC). The medical cannabis card issued by the Department of Public Health serves as proof that the holder is authorized to possess these products, so patients should keep it with them (Georgia DPH). --- Notes Conflicting older limit left out. Two non-official sources (PCOM and Botanical Sciences) describe a limit of 20 fluid ounces of low-THC oil at 5% THC or less. Both official sources state the 12,000 mg figure instead. Fox 5 also reports that SB 220 removed the 5% potency cap. I used the official figure and did not mention the older volume-based limit. Labeled-container requirement left out. Fox 5 and Elevated Health MD say products must be kept in labeled containers. Neither official source, as summarized, confirms this, so I didn't include it. You may want to check it against DPH or GMCC directly. Age question left out. Sources disagree on age. DPH says patients must be 18 or older. Fox 5 says 21 or older. Elevated Health says 21 applies only to vaporization. This belongs in an age section rather than a possession paragraph, but it needs resolving from an official source before it's published anywhere.
Verified — · sourceGeorgia's medical cannabis program is open to adults 18 and older. Applicants must also be state residents with a qualifying condition (Georgia DPH). Patients under 18 are not locked out. A parent, guardian, or legal custodian can register as their caregiver (Georgia DPH). --- Notes Conflicting age claims. The 18+ threshold comes from the Department of Public Health, which is the official source. However, Fox 5 Atlanta says medical cannabis is limited to patients 21 and older. That conflicts with DPH's 18+ requirement and its caregiver provisions for minors. I followed the official source, but someone should check this against DPH or the text of SB 220 before publishing. Vaporization age left out. Elevated Health MD says the minimum age for vaporized products is 21. Neither official source confirms this, so I didn't include it. It may explain Fox 5's 21+ figure, since that may refer to vaping rather than the program overall. If DPH or GMCC confirms a product-specific age limit, it would be worth adding. No regulator guidance on minors. The GMCC FAQ doesn't address age. Beyond DPH's caregiver rule, no official source covers how minors access products.
Verified — · sourceGeorgia's medical cannabis program does not let anyone grow cannabis at home. The Georgia Access to Medical Cannabis Commission states that home cultivation is illegal in the state (GMCC FAQs). Registered patients and caregivers may possess medical cannabis only in approved product forms, such as oils, tinctures, patches, lotions, capsules and vaporizers. Smoking is prohibited (GMCC FAQs). Possession is capped at 12,000 milligrams of THC in total (Georgia DPH; GMCC FAQs). --- Note on omissions: Criminal penalties for cultivation: I left these out. Neither official source addresses them, and the non-official sources describe them differently. NORML cites felony sentences of one to thirty years depending on quantity. A defense firm says growing is charged as manufacturing or trafficking. Burke County Sheriff's page and Frye Law Group give other framings. Someone should confirm penalties against the Georgia Code before adding them. Patients and caregivers specifically: I didn't claim that a registry card doesn't change the ban. The GMCC statement is a flat prohibition, but it doesn't mention cardholders explicitly.
Verified — · sourceIn Georgia, the Department of Public Health (DPH) runs the patient side of the medical cannabis program. It maintains the Medical Cannabis Patient Registry and issues the cards that registered patients and caregivers use as proof that they may legally possess medical cannabis (DPH). Patients enter the registry through a physician. Only doctors who hold a Georgia license and whose principal place of practice is in the state may certify patients (DPH). --- Notes Georgia Access to Medical Cannabis Commission (gmcc.ga.gov): The commission's official FAQ is listed under "regulatory body," but none of the facts provided say what the commission does, such as whether it licenses or oversees dispensaries. I left out any claim about its role. Consider adding a sentence once someone confirms its responsibilities directly on gmcc.ga.gov. Card validity and fees: The sources conflict. Some say cards are valid for five years and others say one year as of July 1, 2026. None of these figures come from an official source, so I omitted them. Card pickup: One commercial source (Trulieve) says cards are picked up at public health offices within 15 business days. No official source confirms this, so I excluded it.
Verified — · sourceGeorgia allows cannabis only through its medical program. Only registered patients and caregivers may legally possess it, and recreational sales are not permitted (GMCC FAQs). Because purchases happen within this limited medical framework, patients should ask their dispensary how taxes are applied at checkout before they buy. Registry card costs are separate from any taxes charged on products. --- Note for the editor: No tax facts are established. None of the provided sources say whether Georgia charges sales tax or any cannabis-specific tax on medical cannabis purchases, so I made no claim about rates or exemptions. "Tax stamps" in the NORML source. NORML's page lists a "tax stamps" heading, but the research includes no facts from that section. It likely refers to drug tax stamps for illegal possession rather than dispensary sales tax. Either way, I couldn't verify it and left it out. Card fee left out of the paragraph. Two non-official sources (elevatedhealthmd.com, botanicalsciences.com) cite a $30 card fee plus $3.75 in processing fees. That is a fee, not a tax, and the official DPH source doesn't confirm the amount. Leafwell's "$33.75 state registry fee" matches the total, but it is also not official. Sources to check. Before publishing any tax details, check Georgia Department of Revenue guidance or the GMCC directly. Neither source appears in the provided list. Consider dropping the section. If a tax section with no concrete figures isn't useful, you may want to omit "Taxes" for Georgia until an official source is found. None of the top-ranking competitor pages list taxes as a covered subject.
Verified — · sourceGeorgia's rules leave little room for using cannabis outside a private setting. Only registered patients and caregivers may legally possess medical cannabis, and recreational use is not legal in the state (GMCC FAQs). Smoking is prohibited. Approved forms are oils, tinctures, patches, lotions, capsules, ingestibles, and vaporizers (GMCC FAQs). News coverage of the SB 220 overhaul also reports that consuming medical cannabis in public is banned (FOX 5 Atlanta). Patients with questions about using products at or near a dispensary should conf
Verified — · sourceIn Georgia, getting a medical cannabis card starts with a physician. Only doctors licensed in Georgia whose principal place of practice is in the state can certify a patient (DPH). Applicants must be Georgia residents with a qualifying condition (DPH). The Georgia Department of Public Health runs the Medical Cannabis Patient Registry and issues the cards, which serve as proof that the holder may legally possess medical cannabis (DPH). For a minor with a qualifying condition, a parent, guardian, or legal custodian can register as the caregiver (DPH). Registered patients and caregivers may possess up to 12,000 milligrams of THC in total (DPH; GMCC). Notes on omissions Age minimum: DPH says applicants must be at least 18. Fox 5 reports that SB 220 limits medical cannabis to patients 21 and older, and Elevated Health MD says 21 is the minimum for vaporization only. Because these conflict, I left age out. Someone should check the current DPH or statutory text. Card validity and renewal: Sources disagree. Elevated Health MD and Botanical Sciences say five years, while Leafwell says one year as of July 1, 2026. No official source addresses it, so I omitted it. Fees: The $30 plus $3.75 figure appears only on commercial sites, not the .gov sources, so I left it out. Required documents: The notarized waiver, ID, and proof-of-residency requirements come only from
Verified — · sourceTo join Georgia's medical cannabis program, a patient must be a Georgia resident and have a condition on the state's approved list (Georgia DPH). A Georg
Verified — · sourceTo apply for Georgia's medical cannabis card, a patient must be at least 18 years old, have a qualifying condition, and be a Georgia resident (Georgia DPH). The application depends on a physician's certification, and only a physician licensed in Georgia whose principal place of practice is in the state may certify a patient (Georgia DPH). Once certified, patients are entered into the Medical Cannabis Patient Registry, which is run by the Georgia Department of Public Health, the agency that also issues the cards (Georgia DPH). The card serves as proof that the holder may legally possess medical cannabis (Georgia DPH). For patients under 18 who have a qualifying condition, a parent, guardian, or legal custodian may act as the caregiver (Georgia DPH). --- Notes for the editor Age conflict: DPH (official) states the minimum age is 18. Fox 5 Atlanta says medical cannabis is limited to patients 21 and older under SB 220. Elevated Health MD says 21 applies only to vaporization. I used the DPH figure. Someone should confirm whether SB 220 changed the age rules before publishing. Required documents left out: Quick Med Cards and PCOM list a state ID, a notarized waiver form, and a physician certification form. Leafwell describes ID and proof-of-residency rules. None of these come from a .gov source, and they may predate SB 220, so I left them out. Fees and card validity left out: Several non-official sources cite $30 plus a $3.75 fee. They disagree on how long a card lasts: five years (Elevated Health MD, Botanical Sciences) versus one year as of July 1, 2026 (Leafwell). Neither official source addresses fees or validity, so I omitted both. Processing time left out: Trulieve's claim of pickup within 15 business days is not confirmed by an official source.
Verified — · sourceGeorgia's medical cannabis program runs through the Georgia Department of Public Health, which maintains the Medical Cannabis Patient Registry and issues patient and caregiver cards (DPH). A valid card is how a patient shows they are legally authorized to possess medical cannabis, so a lapsed card leaves a patient without that proof (DPH). The eligibility rules that apply to new applicants still matter at renewal. A patient must be at least 18, be a Georgia resident, and have a qualifying condition, while parents, guardians, or legal custodians may serve as caregivers for minors (DPH). Certification must come from a Georgia-licensed physician whose principal place of practice is in the state (DPH). Because the state has not published clear renewal timelines or fees, cardholders should confirm their card's expiration date and current renewal steps directly with the Department of Public Health well before the card expires. --- Note on omissions: Card validity period: I left this out because the sources conflict. Elevated Health MD and Botanical Sciences say cards last five years. Leafwell says cards are valid for one year as of July 1, 2026. Neither official source (DPH or GMCC) states a validity period. Renewal fees: I left these out. Leafwell says renewals cost the same as initial applications, and two commercial sites cite a $30 + $3.75 fee. None of these is an official source, and the fee may have changed under SB 220. Physician re-consultation: Botanical Sciences says renewal requires a new consultation with a registered physician to confirm continued eligibility. No official source confirms this, so I did not state it as a requirement. Age at renewal: Fox 5 Atlanta reports that medical cannabis is limited to patients 21 and older, and Elevated Health MD says 21 applies to va
Verified — · sourceGeorgia's official program pages do not say whether a medical cannabis evaluation may be done by video. What they do establish is who can certify a patient: only a physician licensed in Georgia whose principal place of practice is in the state (DPH). After certification, the Georgia Department of Public Health handles the patient registry and issues the medical cannabis card (DPH). Some private companies advertise online evaluations for Georgia patients (Leafwell; Trulieve). Before booking, patients should confirm that the certifying doctor meets the state's in-state licensing and practice requirement. --- Note: Neither official source (DPH or GMCC) addresses whether telemedicine is allowed for certification. The only sources that mention telemedicine are commercial providers selling those services, and they describe availability rather than the legal rule. So I did not state that remote evaluations are legally permitted. The paragraph relies on the DPH physician-eligibility requirement as the controlling legal point.
Verified — · sourceGeorgia's medical cannabis program is built around state registration. The Georgia Department of Public Health maintains the Medical Cannabis Patient Registry and issues the cards that serve as proof of legal authorization to possess medical cannabis (https://dph.georgia.gov/health-topics/medical-cannabis). Applicants must be Georgia residents, and only Georgia-licensed physicians whose principal place of practice is in the state can certify them (https://dph.georgia.gov/health-topics/medical-cannabis). Recreational cannabis is not legal in Georgia, and state regulators say only registered patients and caregivers may legally possess medical cannabis (https://www.gmcc.ga.gov/faqs). Visitors with a medical card from another state should confirm with Georgia regulators before assuming any legal protection. Note: None of the sources establish whether Georgia honors out-of-state medical cannabis cards. The GMCC FAQ (source 2) and botanicalsciences.com (source 12) list reciprocity as a topic, but neither provided a specific fact about it. So I left out any direct yes-or-no claim. Someone should check the GMCC FAQ page and confirm Georgia's reciprocity position before this entry is published.
Verified — · source