Medical Marijuana in Mississippi
Medical Marijuana in Mississippi
Are you interested in Medical Marijuana in Mississippi? We have all the information you need to know.
3/13/20 - Mississippi voters will see two medical cannabis questions on their November ballot after the Senate approved a House-passed resolution for a measure to compete with a more far-reaching one that activists collected sufficient signatures to qualify.
3/12/20 - The Mississippi Senate Constitution Committee approved a House-passed resolution to place a competing medical cannabis question on the ballot next to an activist-driven one.
1/13/20 - The Mississippi State Board of Health followed up its resolution opposing a medical cannabis ballot measure with a letter outlining members' concerns.
1/9/20 - Mississippi's secretary of state announced that activists collected more than enough signatures to qualify a medical cannabis initiative for the 2020 ballot.
Cannabis in Mississippi, United States, is illegal for recreational and medical purposes, but the use of low-THC/high-CBD products is allowed for severe seizure disorders under 2014 legislation. The possession of small amounts was decriminalized in 1978.
While possession of small amounts is indeed decriminalized, it is still a misdemeanor and only decriminalized in the sense that one will not be jailed for a first offense. Under the Mississippi Code of 1979, possession of less than 30 grams of marijuana is a misdemeanor, with the first offense punishable by jail time up to 90 days and a $250.00 fine. However, probation is always given in lieu of a jail sentence following the 1978 decriminalization. One will likely be brought to jail when charged, but, at the discretion of the arresting officer, this can be avoided by both having acceptable identification and promising to appear in court to answer the charge. Subsequent offenses require a minimum 5 days in jail and graduating scale of fines. Possession of paraphernalia will result in up to 90 days in jail and a fine of up to $1,000.00. Again, probation is given instead of the jail sentence, and since 1978 there has never been a person sentenced to jail time for possession of paraphernalia in Mississippi. Simultaneous possession of under 30 grams and paraphernalia is punishable only with a possession of marijuana charge. In practice, if found with under 30 grams of marijuana, it is common to receive a paraphernalia charge for the container it was in, instead of a possession charge. This is done to save the state from having to pay testing costs for the marijuana.
Possession of between one and 30 grams kept in a vehicle is punishable of a fine up to $1,000 and up to 90 days in jail. This only applies to areas in the vehicle occupied by passengers and does not apply to a trunk. Additionally, any conviction will result in a 6 month suspension of driving privileges.
Possession of larger amounts are felonies, as is sale, cultivation and trafficking. For example, the sale of over 10 pounds of marijuana carries a life sentence without the possibility of parole. However, the penalty can be reduced if the person charged provides information on their supplier or other relevant persons to state authorities. Penalties for possession of hash and concentrates is more severe than for marijuana, with any amount greater than 0.1 grams a felony with mandatory sentencing on a graduating scale. First time possession of up to .1 grams can be punished as either a misdemeanor or a felony, at the discretion of the presiding judge. Possession of more than .1 gram but less than 2 grams carries a mandatory 2 years in jail. Trafficking any amount of hash or concentrates carries a mandatory 30 years in the state penitentiary. 
Medical Marijuana in Mississippi on the 2020 Ballot
A YES vote supports establishing a medical marijuana program in Mississippi for individuals with a debilitating medical condition.
A NO vote opposes establishing a medical marijuana program in Mississippi for individuals with a debilitating medical condition.
The amendment qualified for the ballot and was filed with the Mississippi State Legislature on January 7, 2020. Proponents of the measure submitted more than 214,000 signatures in September, of which, 105,686 were found to be valid. To qualify for the ballot, 86,185 valid signatures were required.
We will continue to monitor the current laws and legislation for Medical Marijuana in Mississippi.
CLICK HERE to contact CalmEffect with your questions.
With a growing roster of Doctors who can prescribe cannabis all over Mississippi, CalmEffect is ready to help. Learn how you can get your medical card in Mississippi by filling out the form on this page.
By following these steps, if your doctor recommends medical marijuana as a solution for your condition and unique symptoms, you'll be eligible for a medical marijuana card with access to our growing roster of dispensaries across the entire state. Mail-order and walk ins are available.
If you are ready to start your journey with Medical Marijuana in Mississippi, we are here to help you.
Thank you again to our thousands of supporters, clients, and business partners. Together we will make certain that more people are made aware of this life-changing natural option for symptom relief.
We are dedicated to helping you find your way to a better life with natural alternative medicine. We are confident you will be happy you took the first step to the possibility of a symptom-free life. Now is your time.