Important Info You Must Know About Florida’s Medical Cannabis World
Three years ago, Florida voted to legalize and regulate medical cannabis, but even people who have been part of the medical-use marijuana program since it first started functioning don’t know about all the rules that the state has outlined for the program. As such, here are a few things about Florida’s medical cannabis industry, including laws that regulate patient and dispensary behavior all the same.
Important Info You Must Know About Florida’s Medical Cannabis World – Going to a Doctor Kicks Off Your Quest for Patient Licensure
In Florida, physicians are able to recommend cannabis to patients if they have one of a few serious, debilitating health issues, the list of which includes HIV, AIDS, Crohn’s disease, and Parkinson’s disease, among many others. However, first, prospective patients need to see if they are eligible at their first physician visit. Next, the physician has to recommend it. If eligible, they get a program membership card from the Florida Department of Health.
Important Info You Must Know About Florida’s Medical Cannabis World – Until Recently, You Couldn’t Legally Smoke Cannabis to Consume It
Members of the state of Florida’s medical marijuana program were not able to consume the drug by combustion, another word for smoking the green substance. There are many other ways that people can consume cannabis as well, such as by eating food infused with its psychoactive compounds. However, Governor Ron DeSantis repealed the state’s restriction on consuming medical cannabis via combustion in March 2019.
CHECK OUT THIS HELPFUL VIDEO about smoking medical marijuana.
Important Info You Must Know About Florida’s Medical Cannabis World – Participants Need to Be Aware of Maximum Possession Limits
In March of this year, at the same time that Florida Governor Ron DeSantis signed the aforementioned bill into reality, he also made it so that members of the state’s medical marijuana program could source a maximum of 2.5 ounces of dried cannabis flower every five weeks.
Medical marijuana dispensaries in Miami have to track customers’ purchases so they don’t go over the 35-day limit. Medical marijuana dispensaries in Miami and caregivers both have to adhere to the 2.5-ounce-per-35-days limit.
If you have additional questions, please always feel free to CONTACT US anytime.
Check out this helpful video on different ways to consume medical marijuana.
Interested in accessories for medical marijuana? We have compiled a collection of medical marijuana accessories that you are sure to love! SHOP MEDICAL MARIJUANA ACCESSORIES BY CLICKING HERE.